RSS

Triangles baby quilt

08 Jun

DSC_0027

The other day I finished my first baby quilt!! My brother is having his first kid (my first nephew!!) and I figured he already has so many baby clothes gifted from family and friends so maybe I’d just make a blanket or quilt.

DSC_0006

I looked through my fabric shelf, there’re several fat quarters left of this Scoot collection by Riley Blake Designs. So I decided to do a simple quilt that uses mostly fat quarters. I found this triangles baby quilt tutorial on Lindsay Sews. It looks easy enough for beginners and it really is easy to make, plus I like the simple design!

DSC_0001

It requires 6 fat quarters for the main part. For the border, I used 2 fat quarters from the Scoot collection instead of 5/8 yard per the tutorial, so it came out smaller than Lindsay’s tutorial. My baby quilt came out 32″ x 54″.

DSC_0009

The backing is cotton flannel I got from Joann’s. Love the contract color. And the binding is from Michael Miller, Mini Mikes It’s a boy thing collection.

DSC_0004

I didn’t have a quilting feet when I quilted this, so what I did is I sew around the border of the triangles one by one. It almost drove me nuts, lol.

DSC_0016Hope they like it! I can’t wait to meet my little nephew this summer!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 8, 2013 in Children, Quilts

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
