RSS

Western day outfit

03 May

My son’s school celebrated Western Day about two weeks ago and kids were encouraged to wear western outfits on that day for the school event. So I made him this look (shirt, scarf, and hat) 🙂

western1

He was happy and proud when we walked to the school that day. But when he found out that only half of his classmates dressed like him, he suddenly became shy. lol

DSC_0012

Among the three “items”, I think he likes the cowboy hat most.

To make the hat:

I used the hat crown and side pattern pieces from “reversible bucket hat pattern” in Little Things to Sew by Oliver + S. (It’s free at here. I’ve made two hats as gift before, love it!)  Instead of one layer of mid-weight interfacing in the pattern, I used Decor Bond fusible facing on the exterior fabric, and mid-weight fusible on the lining fabric.

I finished the hat crown and side area, and put it on the paper to trace and draw a brim pattern. (picture below)  The brim near the forehead and back head should be wider than the left and right.

Then I cut fabric and attached the brims to the hat. Last step, fold up the narrower brims and stitch to the sides of hat.

Draw and cut star shapes on felt sheets. Stitch to the hat. (or just glue it :-))

DSC_0014

For the shirt, I used mainly Ottobre Design 6/2012 pattern 18 (the pattern is a long-sleeve shirt) but modified the sleeve length, and added a tab to the sleeve.

0001

Yellow airplane buttons on the tab.

DSC_0010

At first I wasn’t worried about the scarf because I was planning to dye a white bandana I have from long time ago to red. When I finally dig out that bandana, I forgot it’s in adult size and it looks huge on him! so, I got to make him a new one.

DSC_0001

To make the scarf:

I cut a 13″ x 13″ square, fold it diagonally with right sides together, sew the two sides and leave a 3″ opening, turn right side out, stitch closed the opening. Attach the snap fastener to the two ends.

This measurement fits my son’s (3-year-old) neck area just fine with the snap fastener. If you’d like to just tie it with the two ends, I’d add at least 3″ to the square (i.e. 16″ x 16″).

DSC_0011I worked on this outfits until last minutes, so relieved it’s done on time and fits him fine!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 3, 2013 in Children

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “Western day outfit

  1. mandymunroe

    May 3, 2013 at 6:49 am

    What a great model you have there, he seems to appreciate all of your hard work!

     
    • LucyL

      May 3, 2013 at 9:43 am

      Thanks Mandy,
      he basically is a camera-happy kid 🙂

       
  2. LueAnna Bracha

    May 3, 2013 at 7:07 pm

    Very cute! We celebrate Western Days where I live and this will make a cute idea for an outfit! Thanks.

     
  3. craftinlightenment

    May 20, 2013 at 9:28 pm

    Just now catching up with my blogreading, and LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the design and easy instructions for this cute outfit! Wanted to also let you know that I nominated you for the Wonderful Team Member Readership Award. You may continue the chain, or just enjoy the nomination. The Rules are here: http://craftinlightenment.wordpress.com/2013/05/06/what-an-honor/.

     
  4. craftinlightenment

    May 20, 2013 at 9:29 pm

    Reblogged this on craftinlightenment and commented:
    This western outfit was so precious and has such easy instructions, it was well worth a reblog!

     

Leave a Reply

 
