RSS

Covert Robin- what I made for Kat

13 Apr

A while ago I mentioned that I participated in the Covert Robin handmade gifts exchange, I just received my gifts and my swap buddy also got the one I sent, so it’s time to share what I made, and what I got (this will be in another post.) !

My Covert Robin buddy is Kat from Modern Vintage Cupcakes in New Zealand. From her blog I knew she adores 40s and 50s styles and oh my! she sews a lot of nice and elegant dresses! Although I sometimes sew for myself too, I know very little about vintage style. As I read on, I found she is also a mom with little kid. There’re several thoughts running through my head about what to make for her, what fabric to use, and what kind of prints she may like. At last, I decided to make a pair of indoor slipper and a wet bag.

DSC_0019

I have made a few adult and kid indoor slippers for family in the past. They keep the feet warm in cold season, I even wear them in summer because we have tile floor in the living room and kitchen area.  So I guess she might like a pair of slipper too since New Zealand will be going into fall/winter soon.     As for the wet bag, I just think maybe it’ll be convenient for a mom.

DSC_0021

I used this wet bag tutorial by A Lemon Squeezy Home. The outside fabric is 100% cotton twill, and the lining fabric is PUL, which I got @HobbyLobby. PUL is mainly used for cloth diaper cover, the back side of PUL is waterproof (per product information.) so it’s suitable for wet bag.

DSC_0020

As for the slipper, I chose to use two prints from Color Me Retro collection.  In addition, I also used denim, fleece, cotton print, and linen from my stash. It’s an all-fabric slipper, so I need to use as many fabric as I can for the bottom (sole), so it’s firm enough and comfortable to the feet.

Here is how I made them:

1. The color me retro fabric I have(the flower in ruby-red) is a fat quarter. I compared it to my slipper pattern and cut out a rectangle that’s large enough for a pair of slipper bottom. Then I cut all the “batting fabrics” into the same size as the rectangle. I stacked them nicely together and quilted in about 3/4″ size diamond. Trace the slipper bottom pattern, cut them out and leave them aside.

PS. When stacking the fabrics, I always leave the denim on the very bottom (the layer that touches the floor). And I like the fleece in the 2nd layer (right under the pretty fabric.) as I think it makes the feet warm and comfortable.

DSC_0005

2. Now for the slipper top. I quilted the lining fabric (Kitchenette in raspberry) with just one piece of fleece as batting. Trace slipper top pattern and cut them out. Also cut a pair of the slipper top with the exterior fabric (the flower in ruby-red).

DSC_0010

3. With right sides together, stitch the top exterior and top lining along the lower curve. You can add piping, decorative trims in this step. Turn to right side, press, and top stitch. (I don’t normally add piping here, but just wanted to do something different this time~~)

DSC_0011

4. Next, I hand basted the slipper top to the slipper bottom.

DSC_0012

5. Lastly, bind the raw edges with bias tape and it’s done!

DSC_0016

Because it’s all-fabric slipper, it’s machine washable. Usually I just put them in mesh laundry bag and wash them in washing machine. Then I reshape the slippers and hang them dry.

I heard from Kat about two weeks after I sent out the package. So happy it arrived safely and I feel relieved. She likes what I made and that makes me happy for days. This is the first time I participated in Covert Robin, I think I’ll be there next year too!

 

**This post is also on link party at Show and Tell Tuesday~

 
27 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2013 in Bags, Tutorials, Women

 

Tags: , ,

27 responses to “Covert Robin- what I made for Kat

  1. Kat H

    April 14, 2013 at 3:44 am

    I really love the slippers and the wet bag! I’ve been wearing the slippers pretty much every day since I got them, they’re fabulous and the bright pink fabric makes me smile lots. 🙂 Thank you again!

     
    • LucyL

      April 15, 2013 at 10:52 am

      You’re very welcome! I’m happy to have the chance to make something for a new friend. =)

       
  2. daisybellcrafts

    April 14, 2013 at 4:08 am

    What a lovely idea. The slippers are adorable and the wet-bag will come in handy I’m sure 🙂

     
    • LucyL

      April 15, 2013 at 10:55 am

      Thank you for dropping by. I do enjoy making them! =)

       
  3. Gail sabramsky

    April 14, 2013 at 7:24 am

    Those slippers are adorable and I love the idea of the wet bag. What a great gift for a new mom!

     
    • LucyL

      April 15, 2013 at 10:56 am

      Thank you Gail! by the way, I love your blog name! 🙂

       
  4. painterswife

    April 14, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    I just adore those slippers! And now I need to make some – so thank you so much for the instructions!

     
    • LucyL

      April 15, 2013 at 10:59 am

      Thank you for dropping by! I’m happy that you’d like to make the slippers =)

       
  5. Jamie

    April 20, 2013 at 7:20 am

    Love the slippers, makes me want to make some for myself. Thanks for posting!

     
    • LucyL

      April 20, 2013 at 9:20 am

      Thanks Jamie!
      Please do share with me if you make one, I’m glad you like it!

       
  6. Teje

    April 23, 2013 at 2:27 am

    Just fantastic slippers! Thank you for showing how you made them!

     
    • LucyL

      April 23, 2013 at 9:19 am

      Thank you Teje! =)

       
  7. beckypetersen

    April 23, 2013 at 2:59 am

    Beautiful! Where did you get your slipper pattern? (esp. the upper part–am assuming just trace some flip flops for the bottom part).

     
    • LucyL

      April 23, 2013 at 9:35 am

      Thanks for dropping by, Becky!
      I started off by using one free online pattern and have been adjusting the pattern several times~
      You could try this one:
      http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2010/may/18/how-to-make-slippers-from-jeans
      This looks very similar to the one I found long time ago.

       
      • beckypetersen

        April 23, 2013 at 3:47 pm

        Thanks! I appreciate it very much. I definitely want to try these as I can make them big enough! I can’t easily find slippers in my size here in Poland.

         
  8. Anita

    April 30, 2013 at 8:02 am

    Wow, the slippers look great. I’m intimidated by the final step. Do you use anything special for attaching the bias tape?

     
    • LucyL

      April 30, 2013 at 8:36 am

      Thanks for dropping by Anita!
      I didn’t use anything special for attaching the bias tape. It’s 3/8″ double fold bias tape, and I just attach it like this: unfold the bias tape, pin and stitch to the “right” side of the slipper, re-fold the bias tape, (you might need to refold it a little tighter, so when later you stitch in the ditch, it will catch the bias tape in the wrong side) and stitch in the ditch from the “right” side.

      🙂

       
  9. Dee

    April 30, 2013 at 8:42 am

    How very clever! These slippers look professionally made! Wow! Awesome!

     
  10. Sandy J

    April 17, 2015 at 7:40 pm

    I love the look of these, but have no idea what a wet bag is?

     
    • LucyL

      April 19, 2015 at 2:12 am

      Usually it’s used to store soiled cloth diapers on-the-go by parents who cloth diaper their babies since the wet bag is made to be waterproof. But it can be used to store anything..

       
  11. Becky Bailey

    April 17, 2015 at 10:27 pm

    Where is the pattern for the slippers

     
  12. Cynthia W.

    April 20, 2015 at 10:05 pm

    Beautiful slippers. How do you use binding tape? Is it sticky or do you sew it in?

     
    • LucyL

      April 21, 2015 at 2:19 am

      Hi Cynthia,
      I sew it in. To me, I think it’s the most time consuming part, but I love how it looks.

       

Leave a Reply

 
