RSS

Craftsy BOM 2013- February

08 Apr

Today I’m sharing the (Craftsy BOM) February block I made. (yes, I know it’s already a week into April….:p)

DSC_0010

I have this Liliput Field jelly roll by Tina Givens, which I got from a mystery box fabric sale. Most of them are large-scale floral prints. I never did something with “large-scale but in small cut” fabric before and was really confused how I’m going to use these 30  (2.5″ x 42″) strips.

Thankfully when I watched the video for this month’s block, the instructor Laura Nownes mentioned that we may want to try this block with large-scale print fabric. So I jumped in and pulled out all the 30 strips, matched them into several different combinations, and decided to use the above five brown/peach strips with a blue scrap fabric in my stash.

Honestly I was in doubt when I was sewing these pieces together. But after I’ve done all three blocks and taped them to the wall, I think: it’s not so bad after all. The instructor named the block “Spring Blooms”. I guess my blocks maybe look a little like swirling blossoms…  🙂

If you have not heard of it but are interested in following along with the Block of Month @Craftsy, it’s over here.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 8, 2013 in Quilts

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
