RSS

Envelope Clutch sew-along on See Kate Sew

28 Feb

021413-1

Are you sewing along with Kate on See Kate Sew? She announced the Envelope Clutch Sew-Along last week and I instantly signed up! You can find the sew-along post here. The tutorial is easy to follow and very quick to finish. 

I used two fat quarter from Valori Wells’ Cocoon collection. It’s larger scale butterfly print and it’s what I want on my clutch.

021413-4

Originally I planned to add zippered pocket in the clutch, but ~~ I wish I had another piece of the lining fabric. For the closure, I couldn’t find a proper button for the fabric, so I used magnetic snaps instead.

021413-3

For the interfacing, I traced another pattern without the seam allowance for it. And I fused Decor-Bond to the exterior fabric and fusible fleece to the lining. It adds body to the clutch, but at the same time a bit difficult to sew around the lower clutch opening area.. Maybe it’s a not a good idea~?

021413-2

 

You have until March 4 to add your project to the group, hope to see you there!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2013 in Bags

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Envelope Clutch sew-along on See Kate Sew

  1. Megan @ AnnieOak Designs

    February 28, 2013 at 12:21 pm

    Love the fabric! Glad to see I wasn’t the only one who had a bit of trouble with the bottom part of the opening ;O)

     
    • LucyL

      February 28, 2013 at 9:06 pm

      Thank you!
      I’m thinking to make another one as gift and maybe the 2nd time I can do better on the lower part of the closure.. :p

       
  2. craftinlightenment

    March 12, 2013 at 12:30 am

    What a neat little clutch. Such a simple and elegant design and choice of fabrics.

     
    • LucyL

      March 13, 2013 at 2:18 pm

      Thank you =)

       

Leave a Reply

 
