RSS

{TUTORIAL} Wrist Pincushion

21 Feb

Wrist Pincushion tutorial on Needleandladle.wordpress.com

Pins are so important to me, it’s one of the essential sewing supplies to have. I have the long, yellow, flat heat pins as well as the pearl head pins, I like both of them. From the day I bought them, they’ve always been stored in the original cases they came from. I don’t know why I waited for so long to make a pincushion!

DSC_0052One thing I’m sure is I want a wrist pincushion. So this morning I started by measuring my wrist width, circumference, and envisioning how big the pincushion I want.  And here is how I made my wrist pincushion:

Supplies needed:

  • Fabrics
  • Polyester fiber fill
  • Velcro
  • Hand sewing kit

***Seam allowance 3/8″ included and is used throughout the project.

1. Cut fabrics in the following measurements: (my wrist is about 6″, you may adjust the wristband length according to your wrist measurement.)

For pincushion- cut two 3 1/2″ x 3 1/2″ squares.

For wristband- cut two 2″ x 9 1/4″ rectangles.

2. Sew the two pieces of wristband right sides together and be sure to leave a 2″ opening unsewn on the longer side of the rectangle. Clip the corner, turn right side out, and finger press to make the rectangle as neat as possible or iron press it.

DSC_0028

3. Sew around the wristband to close the opening. Or, what I did is using decorative stitch on my sewing machine to close the opening.

DSC_0081.JPG

DSC_0029

4. Take ONE piece of the pincushion fabric and place it in the center of the wristband, right sides together. Stitch this pincushion piece to the wristband. The picture below shows where I stitched it in GREEN. The green stitch line is 3/4″ from the left and right raw edges, and is close to my decorative stitch on the wristband.

DSC_0033.JPG

5. Take the remaining pincushion piece, align with the piece you sewed in step 4. right sides together, so the wristband is sandwiched in between two pincushion fabrics.

Stitch around the pincushion squares like the BLUE line in the above picture. You need to leave THREE openings. The bottom one is for turning the right sides out. The left and right openings are for turning the wristband out, so stitch here close to the wristband but not over it.

6. From the bottom opening, turn the pincushion right side out as well as the wristband.

Stitch the TWO openings near the wristband closed. Stitch on the pincushion only, do not stitch it together with the wristband. (you’ll need to move the wristband away from the pincushion when you do this part.)

DSC_0039.JPG

7. Stuff the pincushion with poly-fill until it’s firm enough.

Hand sew the bottom opening closed.

DSC_0035.JPG

8. Try on the wrist pincushion on your hand and sew the velcro onto where you feel comfortable. For mine I cut 1/2″ velcro and sew it close to the end.

DSC_0042.JPG

And here is the wrist pincushion!

DSC_0078

DSC_0046

Love it! Maybe it will make my sewing more efficient, lol!

DSC_0055

This is my first tutorial, if you have questions please let me know.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2013 in Tutorials

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “{TUTORIAL} Wrist Pincushion

  1. Samantha

    February 26, 2013 at 9:45 am

    Nice tutorial.. I really need to make one of these! Pins everywhere.

     
    • LucyL

      February 26, 2013 at 5:01 pm

      Thank you! it’s fun to make this and now I have it on my wrist as I type this comment…:)
      Thanks for stopping by.

       
  2. Anna

    February 27, 2013 at 1:20 am

    That is so cute! And kind of genius. I would be a little afraid of getting distracted and sticking pins directly into my arm though! Of course, I do that anyway 😛 I might have to make myself one if these!!

     
    • LucyL

      February 27, 2013 at 7:57 am

      Anna, it’s fun reading your comments, lol~
      Thank you for stopping by!

       
  3. Pam

    March 2, 2013 at 5:34 am

    The decorative stitch on the strap looks so effective. Your tutorial is very easy to follow.

     
    • LucyL

      March 2, 2013 at 8:19 am

      Thank you Pam =)

       

Leave a Reply

 
