RSS

More zipper pouch!

17 Feb

I do love the Nekko coin purse I made not too long ago and how it looks on my key chains. But I soon found out it’s not big enough for cards. Erhhh…..  My idea is, when I go pick up my kid from school, I can just take my key chains with me. (without the shoulder bag, purse, etc.)

So here it is my new coin/card pouch!

021013-1

The exterior fabric is Notting Hill by Joel Dewberry. It was included in a scrap pack I purchased from Pink Castle Fabrics. I immediately fall in love with it!

021013-2

The lining fabric is in the same scrap pack from Pink Castle Fabrics. I don’t have the name for this piece, it looks cute to me.

Finished size is about 4.5″ x 6″.

021013-3

If you are looking for tutorials to make this kind of front-open, lined zipper pouch, there is a great free class for beginner at Craftsy taught by Kristin of Sew, Mama, Sew! Link here.

After seeing my new pouch, my son requested a zipper pouch of his own. He looked through my fabric stash and zipper box and chose this dinosaur one with yellow zipper.

021113-2

I made it smaller than mine, the finished size is 4″ x 4″.

021113-3

Unlike the Nekko coin purse in which I used cotton canvas, this two zipper pouches (Notting hill and Dinosaur) I used quilting weight fabrics. I fused medium weight interfacing to the exterior pieces and it’s just about the right stiffness I want and it’s easy to sew through.

021113-4

I added a vinyl layer in the back of the pouch as additional pocket. It’s the 6 gauge vinyl, the thinnest I found in store.  I didn’t use special presser foot for vinyl sewing,,,eh well, I don’t have one anyway. But just want to let you know, my regular presser foot works for this vinyl.

021113-5

The result looks alright, but I can’t press the cotton fabric under the vinyl after I turn the right side out. Maybe there is another way of doing this!?

I would be making more pouches this year. It’s fun and …addicting!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 17, 2013 in Bags

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
