RSS

Boys wedding suits (Oliver + S Sketchbook; Simplicity 7030)

22 May

My youngest brother was getting married last December in sunny Hawaii island. At that time I was still a very beginner in sewing. Somehow I decided to make the wedding suits for my son and me on my own. I couldn’t recall what was in my mind at that time, but it probably was a brave decision and thankfully they turned out alright.

My son was the ring bearer at the wedding; however all he cared about was the open ground where he could run around. How could you blame a 2-year-old for that?

The shirt was made with cotton poplin fabric. First time tried out the poplin and I liked it!  I love the simple collar design.

I used Oliver + S Sketchbook pattern. This is a wonderful pattern! Very well drafted and  the instructions are both easy to follow and informational.  I used size 18-24 month but extended the length to 2T.

For the shorts, I looked for men’s suiting/trouser fabric for its shape. It is stretch shimmer poplin suiting fabric- some friends told me it looked nicer than regular men’s trouser fabric. I think it’s because of the shimmer on the back side of the fabric.

It’s also the Oliver + S Sketchbook pattern,  size 18-24 month with length of 2T. I had to add the cotton lining so that  the shimmer effect wouldn’t scratch the kiddo’s skin.

And the vest, phew,,,, it’s sort of a disaster. Velveteen and poly-lining fabrics are so difficult to work with, at least for me.  The fabric frayed so much along the way as I was working on it and I almost gave up.

The pattern used was Simplicity 7030, size S and I decreased the width of the back body piece by 2″.

It’s a beautiful day.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 22, 2012 in Children

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
