RSS

Jeans and cardigan

23 Oct

It’s Kids Clothes Week Fall 2013!

Today I’d like to share some clothing I made the past few days for my son. I purchased the SewFab pdf sewing pattern bundle last month (the sale is closed now) and have been trying to make new fall/winter clothing out of the pattern bundle.

This is the Greenpoint cardigan by Hey June. The sizing of the pattern seems running a little big and long, so I went one size down. It came out great, fits my son just fine.

DSC_0035

The fabric is Michael Miller cotton interlock knit. Nice stretch and recovery. I like their cotton knit very much.

DSC_0038

This is the Skinny Jeans by Peek-a-Boo pattern shop. She makes lots of kids sewing patterns and I finally get the chance to try one. (yes my first peek-a-boo pattern) And I love it! The pattern is written with detailed sewing steps as well as lots of pictures, and most of all it fits my son nicely.

DSC_0029I like all the double topstitching details. And I like that it’s elastic waistband, it’s easier for little kids.

DSC_0034I used stretch chintz denim fabric that I got last year from fabric.com. I didn’t know anything about chintz when I bought it. The description said it’s 100% cotton and machine washable. When I received the fabric and saw the “glazed” effect of the chintz I was almost going to return it. (I thought it might ruin my washing machine if I did wash it) After talking with customer service I felt better and prewashed it and it looks nice and soft.  I’m glad that I bought this fabric, it looks great!

DSC_0030

DSC_0031Because I like this pattern so much I made another pair of jeans- with denim fabric by Robert Kauman. It’s a 6.5 oz denim, a little too soft in my opinion. Maybe an 8 oz denim will be better.

DSC_0041I added Mickey and Minnie embroidery on the back pockets.

DSC_0043

And a snowflake button~

DSC_0042

Hope I have time to upload some more clothing I made this week. Have a great day!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 23, 2013 in Children

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Jeans and cardigan

  1. Ash P

    October 23, 2013 at 12:31 pm

    Cute pants! I love how they look, you did a great job! :)

     
    • LucyL

      October 23, 2013 at 1:13 pm

      Thank you ! ;)

       
  2. maureen merchant

    November 1, 2013 at 4:28 pm

    those are wonderful! what kind of thread did you use for the top stitching?

     
    • LucyL

      November 1, 2013 at 8:12 pm

      Thank you!
      I use Gutermann Mara 70, I think it’s for topstitching/button hole. :)

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

