RSS

A new sewing machine!

22 May

I got a new sewing machine for Mother’s Day! It’s the Babylock Elizabeth!

DSC_0029

 I have been reading sewing forum for an affordable price range, sewing only machine ever since my old (reconditioned, cheap) Brother started to give me troubles. The automatic thread cutter function is something I definitely want. Then I found this Elizabeth model, most people recommended this.   The day before Mother’s Day My husband took me to the local dealer, where the lady demonstrated this Babylock Elizabeth and another Janome sewing only machine. I decided to go with Babylock.

DSC_0030The machine comes with several presser foots like walking foot (love!), non-stick foot (yay!), quilting foot (not that I quilt a lot, but good to have!), and stitch guide foot. Besides, I love the lock stitch (reinforcement) function and it’s programmable! The knee lifter is nice too.

And seriously, it sews so….smoothly! So, since I got the machine, I spend more time sewing than before, it just makes my sewing more enjoyable and efficient. :-)

Here are some projects I finished the past few days:

A baby boy hoodie jacket at size 12M. The pattern is modified from hoodie jacket in Anna Maria Horner’s book “Handmade beginnings”

DSC_0019

Lined with anti-pill fleece.

DSC_0025

I made fabric buttons for this jacket.

DSC_0023

A dress at size 4T. (Pattern by Oliver + S -puppet show) It’s requested by a friend for her daughter.

DSC_0011Back view. I didn’t make any modification to the pattern.

DSC_0021

Purple buttons at the back closure, and hot pink buttons at the sleeve.

DSC_0017

A waterproof baby bib. The non-stick presser foot comes with my babylock is a big help! (The whale print is vinyl laminated, the chevron is cotton woven.)

DSC_0033Back view.

DSC_0039

And four burp cloths. One side is cotton woven, the other side is cotton flannel.

DSC_0014The blue and green are for a baby boy, and the pink ones are for a baby girl.  I really like the pink print!

DSC_0004

Up to this point, I finished all the gifts I’m bringing to my friends for their new babies this summer. Yay~~! Next I can focus more on other projects for myself and my family…. if I can squeeze time now that the school is out and my kid is with me everyday….

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 22, 2013 in Children

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “A new sewing machine!

  1. craftinlightenment

    May 22, 2013 at 7:53 pm

    What a wonderful gift! All of the projects look great. Would love to see how you did the fabric buttons. I’ve never tried those before…

     
    • LucyL

      May 22, 2013 at 11:10 pm

      Thank you! I love my baby lock!!
      The fabric buttons are made with cover button kit by Dritz, it looks like this:

      I forgot to take pictures when I did it, but next time I will =)

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

